FoodStory

Writing about what feeds me.

What the heck is this – Basa Fish?

My goal is to do 5 blogs per week, no matter how much time I might have to make it look pretty and nice and sh*t.  So, this one’s more “for me”, if you will…

I was at the Adonis grocery, looking to replenish my frozen stock of pre-packaged tilapia, when all I found was this other filleted fish called Basa.  I bought it and figured I’d give it a try.

Tonight, I attempted to make it in the style of the last tilapia recipe I posted about (with bacon, wine, garlic, lemon and optional veggies).  Well, first of all, I mixed up the sequence of the recipe cause I was kind of rushing and not thinking much:

– fried bacon and removed it to a paper towel-covered plate
– dumped out bacon grease, but leaving about 2 Tbl in pan
– added 3 minced garlic cloves, one chopped zucchini, 1/2 chopped green bell pepper and about 4 sliced crimini mushrooms, the chopped bacon and approx. 1/4 cup white wine and juice from 1/2 lemon
** FORGOT to saute fish in pan FIRST! haha
– after cooking vegetables for a few minutes and allowing liquid to reduce, transferred all this to a bowl
– added bacon grease to pan and fried Basa about 2 minutes each side, sprinkling with sea salt, fresh ground pepper and cayenne
–  poured veggies and liquid over fish and allowed to simmer for awhile.
(did NOT fork fish to check for flakiness and ended up having to return to pan for a few more minutes later at the end)
– squeezed 1/4 lemon on top to add more citrus taste

RESULT:
– felt like Basa was still not fully cooked towards; cannot determine real flavor of fish due to this fact
– mixing up the steps rendered the flavor of the citrus and wine nearly undetectable in the sauce
– all in all, a so-so meal, but a lesson learned in the correct step order mattering in this case.

LESSONS LEARNED:
* mixing wine, lemon, garlic and bacon together and allowing to reduce will glaze the pan juices and allow the flavors to combine and concentrate more

FOLLOW UP:
– research Basa fish: a kind of Catfish originating from from the Mekong/Vietnam; due to 1992 US “catfish war”, no longer allowed to be sold in the States under the name “catfish”
– recipe for curry (A-HA!!): http://www.healthylivingindia.org/2010/06/basa-in-coconut-curry-recipe.html
http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/12054/south+indian+fish+curry

UPDATE (02 March 2012):
I think after this pack of frozen Basa are done, I’m gonna steer clear of this fish for the most part.  Sure, it’s inexpensive and maybe the many news claims that say it’s farmed in unsanitary conditions in Vietnam are untrue, but all in all, the taste didn’t really appeal to me much.  AND, I’d rather not risk intaking all those hormones that they undoubtedly inject in order to keep this puppy mass-produced.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2012 by in Culinary, Seafood and tagged , , , , , .
