FoodStory

Writing about what feeds me.

Early Morning Meals: Kale, sweet potato & chickpea stew with cumin, paprika & lime

Before leaving to go to Ottawa for my week break from teaching, I had trouble sleeping and didn’t want to be late for my bus, so I did what anyone else would do at 7am: COOK!  I wanted to use some of my groceries so that they wouldn’t go bad in the fridge.  I found this recipe and just went for it!  I was missing a few ingredients, but made due.  Read till the end to see how I fared…

Process & Ingredients:

– 5 min boil w/salt:
full bunch of kale


– brown in pan*:
small onion, chopped
2 large garlic cloves, minced
1 tsp basil
1 tsp chili flakes

– add the following and simmer till thickened a bit:
1/2 cup brava beer
1/2 cup chickpeas
3/4 of a red bell pepper (my idea, cause I had some left over)
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp cayenne in lieu of smoked paprika*
(NO raisins)

– add:
2 cups water
at least 10-20 dashes of salt (or to taste) while simmering…
lime juice

* problem with early burning of onions and garlic (adjust heat?); or is that the basil that looks burnt?

** this made the stew far too spicy; not that I couldn’t handle it, but it was just overwhelming (must try again with paprika)

Results/Verdict:Honestly, it wasn’t thick enough and as rich-tasting as it was smelling.  The aromas were incredible, but I realize how important the missing ingredients (smoked paprika especially) are to the dish.  The substitution of cayenne made the spicy flavor overwhelming as opposed to enjoyable (and normally I LOVE it pretty damn spicy!).  I froze the rest before I left for Ottawa, so we’ll see how it tastes when it’s thawed and eaten again.As per a second blog I found (linked from the original recipe), I would be open to using vegetable stock in addition to or in lieu of the beer.  My final product was more soupy than stewy and I definitely needed more chickpeas and sweet potato.  The red bell pepper was a nice addition though.  Alas, this is what you get when you only have three quarters of the ingredients!  haha

REFERENCES:
http://outoftheordinaryfood.com/2012/01/12/kale-sweet-potato-chickpea-stew-with-cumin-paprika-lime/
http://whataboutthepie.wordpress.com/2012/02/25/my-weekend-affair-with-kale/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2012 by in Culinary, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , .
