FoodStory

Writing about what feeds me.

Making My Own Ginger Scones

I tried it.  I did.  I tried making my own candied ginger, but failed quite miserably.  Well, it wasn’t a total disaster, but I almost burned all of it.  Some were salvageable, but not good enough to make my scones with.

Yes, that was the whole point – to make GINGER SCONES.

Lesson learned: don’t use brown sugar in place of regular.  Candied ginger redo attempt soon to come…
In the meantime, I learned that making scones is really not that hard.  Arnel and I ate ’em pretty fast.  Sometimes
with ice cream.  Sometimes with coffee.  I gave some to Joan and Caroline and they said they devoured them quickly.
Success?  Yes, I think so! =)


I followed the recipe pretty straight on.  The only thing I changed was the lemon juice substitution suggested in lieu of buttermilk.  Next time I am going to try it WITH buttermilk though, to see the difference.  Since I don’t have a grater that works for ginger or a zester for lemon, I simply minced each of those ingredients very finely.  The one thing that surprised me was the relatively mild sweetness of the scone, even considering how much candied ginger I put in.  Of course scones aren’t supposed to be that sweet; it’s just that candied ginger alone is pretty darn sweet.

As you can see in the following photos, these suckers are quite big, so if you are making a batch just for yourself, consider cutting the recipe in half and just making six.  Or stick with the twelve and give half away. =)


REFERENCES:
http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/ginger_scones/

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/candied-ginger-recipe/index.html

http://www.americastestkitchenfeed.com/do-it-yourself/2011/07/how-to-make-candied-ginger/
MEASUREMENT CONVERSION REFERENCES:
http://quick-dish.tablespoon.com/2009/09/08/tablespoon-conversions-tablespoons-in-cups/

http://allrecipes.com/howto/commonly-used-measurements–equivalents/

One comment on “Making My Own Ginger Scones

  1. virginiaplantation
    May 12, 2012

    These look so good! I am opening a bed and breakfast in Virginia so I am always looking for some good recipes! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2012 by in Baking and tagged , , , , .
