FoodStory

Writing about what feeds me.

Nice, Easy & Way Less Greasy – Turkey Tacos

As always, I’m looking for the quickest and simplest way to make or recreate dishes that either I would’ve typically bought prepared or made with prepared ingredients.

“Homemade” tacos, for me, is something I remember being one of those eventful kind of dinners when I was a kid.  The fun really lies in the construction process while preparation itself is pretty simple.  The thing that bothered me about revisiting this meal (it’d been so long!), was the fact that we always browned greasy ground beef and mixed it with some kind of super salty, preservative-packed dry “taco seasoning”.  I mean, what on earth is in that stuff??  Well, I went to the store, looked at the ingredients, opted against buying it and decided to make my own from scratch.


All we have here is chili powder, cumin, paprika, cayenne, dry onion powder and garlic powder.  Yes, THAT simple.
I didn’t add salt (or sugar), or even black pepper, because that can be added directly, according to taste and quantity.

After sweating down some chopped onion and jalapeno, I browned the turkey directly into the same pan and then mixed it all together.


While I continued to break up the ground turkey with my spatula, I added in several teaspoonfuls of the spice mix to achieve
the desired color and taste (could honestly be even redder if you want):


While chopping and prepping the toppings (tomato, lettuce, jalapeno, cheese), I had the taco shells heating in the toaster oven for 5+ minutes.  And then…

BOOM!  Tasty tacos with beer, of course!  Thanks to my good friend, Kim Arteche, for recommending the Shocktop Raspberry Wheat Ale. =)

NOTES:
–  The best part about using turkey is that it is much leaner and therefore, pretty much eliminates the need to drain the meat after browning/before adding the seasoning.  No more greasy, dripping tacos!
Of course the flavor will be different from a typical beef taco, but it is healthier and lighter.

– Due to the dryness of the spices, be prepared to add a bit of water to the meat mixture in order to blend it all together.

– Of the bottom two references, I leaned more towards the latter.  However, the first gave me a good point of reference for measurements (approximate… memory… fuzzy…urgh):

  • 1 Tbl chili powder
  • 1  tsp dried onion
  • 1 tsp dried garlic powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne

** Try SMOKED paprika next time!

REFERENCES:

One comment on “Nice, Easy & Way Less Greasy – Turkey Tacos

  1. virginiaplantation
    June 17, 2012

    This look yum! I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2012 by in Culinary, Poultry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
