FoodStory

Writing about what feeds me.

Simple Summer Shrimp Ceviche

Ceviche is one of those summer dishes, in my opinion, you just have to learn to make on your own.
It’s so simple and of course, so good.  I think adding this to your spread at the next cookout would not only make your guests very happy, but lighten up the meal overall (especially with bbq’d meats and other heavier sides like potato and macaroni salad).  Since some people may be a bit wary of eating semi-raw fish, using shrimp seems to me to be a safer bet.  Cocktail shrimp, for example, is fairly undercooked and I’ve rarely seen party guests ever turn that appetizer down.

I’ve made ceviche in the past, but since it had been awhile I quickly did a search and came upon this variation.
I decided against adding cubed avocado into the mixture itself and opted to spoon the ceviche on top of some slices of avocado instead.

INGREDIENTS:
approx. 1 lb peeled and deveined shrimp
1 cup fresh lime juice (approx 4 juicy, whole limes)
10 plum tomatoes, diced OR approx. 2 roma tomatoes, diced (I used the latter)
1 red onion, diced
1 jalapeno, seeded and minced OR 2 diced chilies (optional or to taste; I used the latter)
2 avocados, seeded and quartered
2 ribs celery, diced
1 mango, seeded and finely chopped (optional)
chopped, fresh cilantro to taste (I got mine from the garden)
S & P, to taste

PROCESS:
– Place shrimp in a glass bowl and cover with lime juice to marinate (or “cook”) for about 10 minutes, or until they turn pink and opaque.
– Meanwhile, cut and prepare the other ingredients.  Place the tomatoes, onion, peppers and celery in another large, glass bowl.
– Remove shrimp from the lime juice, reserving the liquid.  Dice shrimp and add it to the bowl of chopped vegetables.


– Pour in the remaining lime juice marinade.
– Add chopped cilantro, salt and pepper to taste.  Toss gently to mix.
– For a slightly sweet flavor and interesting variation, add chopped mango to the mixture and mix well.
– Spoon ceviche over quartered sections of avocado.


NOTES:
– Ceviche can keep for about a day or so, but is best eaten the same day.  I found that the lime juice was a bit much, so in the end, I strained out the remaining liquid once I mixed all the ingredients together.
– The addition of mango was a spur-of-the-moment idea to help counteract the sourness of the lime juice.  Instead of adding sugar, I found this ingredient created the perfect balance of flavor.
– Celery is not a vegetable I would have normally thought to include in this dish.  However, seeing as how I was a bit short on ingredients (including jalapeno, which would add the nice green color), I tried it and was quite pleased.

** Keep in mind that peeling and deveining shrimp is quite a painstaking process.  If you’re too lazy, you can buy prepared shrimp from most grocery stores that area already peeled and deveined.  I got mine from the H Mart (Korean market), so I was in for good 20-minute cleaning job; and that is for just over 1 lb of shrimp!
** This recipe yields several (approx. 7-8) servings and in fact, would be enough as an appetizer for a small party.

REFERENCES:
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/joses-shrimp-ceviche/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 4, 2012 by in Culinary, Seafood and tagged , , , , , , , .
