FoodStory

Writing about what feeds me.

(AT LEAST) ‪#‎30daysofrandomfoodwriting‬ – DAY 1

We finally left the house for a brisk afternoon walk to the Fillmore on New Year’s Day. I offhandedly suggested a visit to JANE, the often busy coffee shop with random graffiti tags covering the mirrored wall flanking the barista and baked goods counter. I ordered my usual espresso with a shot of hot water (because an Americano can sometimes be too watery, and just an espresso alone simply ends too quickly), and figured I’d try a cookie so that we would have something to share – Nicole doesn’t drink coffee. Of all the numerous offerings, I decided on the “Crazy Cookie,” a fair compromise of the familiar (chocolate chip), the indulgently sweet (marshmallow), and the texturally interesting (cornflakes). I tried it; actually, as soon as I tried to break a piece off, I already knew I wouldn’t like it. It wasn’t soft and chewy. And as far as crispy or crunchy, there are few cookies of that type I will even give a chance to. Oh well. I bought the “crazy” thing and went for it anyways, alternating breaking off pieces with Nicole until it was all gone. At least it was something sweet to accompany my brief espresso moment.

Thinking back on this once-in-a-lifetime cookie (i.e. I will probably never order or try it again), I am intrigued by the idea of how the ingredients were chosen. I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, so I am not easily wooed, or so I don’t think. But, apparently, something about this combination (and perhaps the name) made me believe this would be a winner.

CHOCOLATE – even better, chocolate chips. Small little morsels of familiar sweetness. Almost all of us have at least one memory of baking simple, feelgood chocolate chip cookies as a kid, whether from scratch or from some Toll House yellow plastic bags. Dating back nearly 3 millennia (Wiki), chocolate is an old, reliable, dependable treat you can’t go wrong with in just about any recipe. You’d be crazy NOT to put this in your cookies.

MARSHMALLOW – white pillows of sugar I associate with mainly three things: Swiss Miss, Rice Krispies, and S’mores. So yeah, this recipe is already taking you back to all the tooth-decaying goodness of your childhood. It might just be risky – no, crazy – to imagine these quick melting suckas surviving in the oven.

CORNFLAKES – cereal, the surrogate meal, the midday snack, the late-night pre-bed ritual. I’ve had cornflakes (and potato chips, separately) in chocolate bars, so I know this crunch can be awesome. It also makes great breadcrumb substitute for fried foods, so hell yeah, why not? Try ’em again for the first time – in a cookie!

All in all, It’s safe to say this cookie isn’t so much “crazy” as it is familiar. Granted, these players don’t usually show up in the same place at the same time. If anything, this is tri-force of indulgence in all the things you shouldn’t be eating too much of, but probably do.

I did a brief search for the “Crazy Cookie” from Jane and found this, among a few other photos, on Yelp:

 

I wish I had taken a picture of my unimpressive version because it looked nothing like this. In fact, when I thought later about how I had wished the cookie would look, I kind of envisioned what apparently is the accurate baked product as demonstrated in this photo!

Of course I didn’t expect to see whole marshmallows, but I kind of wanted to at least identify melting white globules of sugar; not what could be mistaken for rock hard melted toffee. I also had hoped for a distinguishable crunch from the cornflakes, but as it was, I couldn’t discern the cereal from the rest of the overbaked cookie.

Ok, so now it sound like I’m complaining. Looking at the photo, I am sure this cookie can be quite stellar. I guess I just came across it on an off-day (it *was* New Years, so I’m sure mofos didn’t want to be at work), which is sad, cause there aren’t many days that I will choose to have a cookie. At any rate, hats off to all the bakers out there cause I certainly know that it ain’t easy!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 8, 2016 by in Food Review, Journal and tagged , , , , , , .

Navigation

